This Student Went To Another Country For Spring Break and Got Class Credit

The Global Classroom Series is comprised of several 3-credit spring semester classes that are taught at Marymount and include a week-long international field experience over spring break.

The Global Classroom series is a great way to study abroad without the time and financial commitment of a full semester abroad. I sat down with a student who traveled to London with his Global Classroom Series class. I’ll let him tell you why you need to apply for the Global Classroom Series today.

Screenshot_2015-08-10-21-20-00-1-1

Name: Shawn Banks

Major: Fashion Merchandising

Year: Sophomore

You took a Global Classroom Series course last spring. Which course did you take and how was it different than other classes you have taken at Marymount?
I took AA-274 Fashion Industry and Its Promotion. The entire class was geared toward going to London, which was really helpful because the UK is one year ahead of us in fashion. I also learned a lot about going abroad. I didn’t even know how to get a passport until I took the class.

What did you and your class do while in London?
We did so many fun things. The main reason I wanted to go is that we got to see the Alexander McQueen exhibit. There’s a 6-month waiting list for tickets so we were really lucky to be able to visit. We did a lot in just 7 days — we went to multiple flagship stores, saw the Victorian Albert Wedding Dress Museum, and participated in a fascinators workshop at the London College of Fashion led by someone who makes hats for the Queen of England.

11061942_443113565851070_7981361967369051509_n FB_IMG_1443208268905

What was your favorite part about the class?
The trip was obviously great, but I really enjoyed the class itself. Our final project was to create a fashion show from scratch including stuff like press releases and getting sponsors. I got to apply a lot of what I learned on the London trip too.

Is the Global Classroom Series affordable?
Yes, the trip was only $1100, and my trip was paid for by a scholarship from the Center for Global Education. I applied for the scholarship the same time I applied for the class. I found out in November that I was accepted into the course, and a week later they told me that I got the scholarship. So, it was kind of like going to London for free!

We just had to pay for our lunches and dinners, plus anything we wanted to do for fun. The hotel served us breakfast every morning and we had unlimited access to ride the buses and metro (over there it’s called “the tube”).

Do you want to go abroad again (semester study abroad or for-credit global internship)?
Definitely. I would like to study in Paris. I think there was a Global Classroom Series course that went to Paris in the past. I hope they do it again so I can go.

What advice do you have for first-year students who are considering taking a Global Classroom Series course?
Definitely plan early. Not only do the spots fill up fast, but you also have to prepare. Don’t wait until the last minute to get your passport. Do your research. Try and learn a little bit about the culture before you go. And make the best of it. Go out at night. You’re only doing school stuff from 9-4 so you have the night to go out and explore.

The Global Classroom Series Application Deadline is this Sunday, October 4th. You can apply by following the links below.

CJ 209 The Criminal Justice System in The Netherlands – Liberal Arts Core/University Requirements Designation: DSINQ *open to all students*

ECO 350 The Economics of Poverty in Panama – Liberal Arts Core/University Requirements Designation: GP, SS-2

EN 350 The American Dream in Puerto Rico – Liberal Arts Core/University Requirements Designation: LT-2, WI

SOC 203 The Global Village in El Salvador – Liberal Arts Core/University Requirements Designation: GP, SS-1

You can access Global Education’s website to find everything you need to know about prerequisites and other details regarding the Global Classroom Series.

Leave a comment